In Virginia, the crimes are happening on a daily basis which might be considered as a felony or a misdemeanor. If the charge is a felony, then the offender should have to suffer in jail for a long time of period. But if the charge is a misdemeanor, the chances are fewer penalties and punishment. Even though, both kinds of charges are considered as a criminal act and can provide you with a criminal background in your license or other legal documents.
So, its always better to stay away from such crimes which may be giving you a criminal record and with the fact of this, you never get a decent and professional official job. However, if you or someone else you know, found themselves in charge of felony class 5, you should need to understand the logic and laws of the crime.
In fact, you should immediately hire a lawyer for your defense. You need to do this as because, with the help of a lawyer, you can stay relax. Because, it’s a lawyer duty to gather all the evidence and talk with the witnesses in a manner to prove you innocent in the court. And once you prove innocent in the court, all the criminal records will vanish in your records instantly.
The penalty for a class 5 felony:
Class 5 felony is considered as a wobbler in where the penalty is not such severe, but still, there is a time the offender should have to stay in jail for a long time. However, class 5 felonies penalty are being charged according to the crime intensity. Also, this class 5 felony is similar to the misdemeanor charges, and sometimes the penalties are also the same in both charges.
If you have been charged with the felony class 5, then the chances are you might be suffering imprison for up to ten long years with a fine as well.
But if the charges are a misdemeanor, then you might be suffering imprison for up to 12 months with a fine of $2,500 as well.
Although, when the victim party got hurt, and they have a damage of up to $1000 in the incident for example hit and run case, and you are the one who hit the car or damage the victim’s property, then you might be charged with the class 5 felony in where you have to stay in prison for up to 10 years as well as along with the fine too.
So, these types of incidents where the victim loses his or her property over the amount of $1000, though these are also listed in the name of “Involuntary Manslaughter.”
People should have to understand the laws of Virginia and their strictness towards the offender. If you commit a crime, then there is no chance to get escape from Virginia’s court except you have a good defense lawyer. A defense lawyer can help you a lot in solving your legal issues.